Penn State Penn State: College of the Liberal Arts
July 2023 Global Southern Forum Sessions

July 2023 Global Southern Forum Sessions

Many pathbreaking concepts and theories have been generated in the Global South since the start of the twenty-first century. In this inaugural July Global Southern Forum, we will revisit and clarify some of them with the aim of how they can and should inform our current and future research, institutional, and activist endeavors.

Monday, 17 July

 

14.30 – 14.45 SAST

(8:30- 8:45 AM EDT)

Introduction: Beginning the conversation

Sinfree Makoni, Jane Gordon, Chanel van der Merwe and Phoebe Quaynor

14.50 – 15.50 SAST

(8:50-9:50 AM EDT)

Introduction: Pamela Maseko

16.00 – 18.00 SAST

(10:00 AM-12:00 PM EDT)

Conversation: Nomalanga Mkhize + Pamela Maseko

 

Tuesday, 18 July

 

14.30 – 16.30 SAST

(8:30-10:30 AM EDT)

Babalwa Magoqwana and panelists

16.45 – 18.00 SAST

(10:45 AM- 12:00 PM EDT)

Conversation: John Joseph, Ana Deumert

Wednesday, 19 July

 

14.30 – 15.30 SAST

(8:30-9:30 AM EDT)

Uchenna Okeja

15.45 – 17.45 SAST

(9:45-11:45 AM EDT)

Panel: Sinfree Makoni + Lewis Gordon + Alastair Pennycook

 

Thursday, 20 July

 

14.30 – 15.45 SAST

(8:30-9:45 AM EDT)

Cecile Vigouroux and panel

 

16.00 – 17.45 SAST

(10:00-11:45 AM EDT)

 

Conversation: Salikoko Mufwene and Jane Gordon

 

Friday, 21 July

 

14.30 – 17.00 SAST

(8:30-11:00 AM EDT)

Panel: Michael West & Rozena Maart

 

17.15 – 18.00 SAST

(11:15 AM- 12:00 PM EDT)

Discussion: The Inaugural July Global Southern Forum 2024

 

You can find a PDF flyer to share here: Virtual July Global Southern Forum 2023